↑ Return to Awards

Fremont Park Design Competition

2009 Fremont Park Design Competition

The winners of the Fremont Park Design Competition were announced on October 17, 2009 in an awards ceremony at HOT ITALIAN. The Sierra Chapter worked with the Friends of Fremont Park, a local community group, and the Capital Area Development Authority, CADA, to put on this competition. Competitors were instructed to retain the existing fountain, trees, and crossing paths, but had no other restrictions.

The HOT ITALIAN Award, first place, was awarded to Meredith Branstad, Bart van der Zeeuw, and Alyssa Lindman.


The Hunter Award, second place, was won by the team of Angela Mlakar, Steve Fuhrman, Jeff Thomas, Deanne Neighbors, Arienne Bertolero, and Kevin Leamy.


The Friends of Fremont Award, third place, was awarded to Andrew Haskin and Dan Affleck.


Aaron Bock and Aaron Whiting won the People’s Choice award, which was voted on by visitors to the display between Saturday October 10th and Friday October 16th.


We would like to thank our judges: Gary Hyden, City of Sacramento Parks Department; Todd Leon, CADA; Costa Apostolos, Friends of Fremont Park; Marq Truscott, Chapter President; and Jeff Townsend, Chapter Trustee. Our sincere thanks to our sponsors: Hunter Industries, HOT ITALIAN, Ernesto’s Mexican Food, Paragary’s Restaurants, and Starbucks. Finally, we would like to thank all of the competition participants. This could not have happened without you.