Get Involved

The Sierra Chapter is a non-profit professional organization run entirely by volunteers.  Members of the executive committee are elected each year in August and serve year-long terms starting in October.  Executive Committee meetings are held on the first Wednesday of every month at the AIA building, located at 1400 S Street in Sacramento.  Meetings start at 4:30 PM and are open to all members.  You can contact the executive committee at

We also have a number of subcommittees that plan specific events.  We welcome any members who would like to get more involved in the chapter.  For more information on our subcommittees, click on the sections below.

Architecture Festival Committee

Mission Statement: Raising awareness of the landscape profession and their role in the built environment through public relations campaign, festival events and varied media including film, educational sessions and workshops. Members: Chad Kennedy (Chair), Jim Schubert (Vice Chair) For more information, contact the Architecture Festival Committee at

View page »

Design Awards Committee

Mission Statement: Provide an outlet for our members to showcase their own work and experience and recognize works by other members, by establishing a framework for competitive project submittal and review, and plan a public event and other recognition to announce and celebrate the winners. Members: Keith Wilson (Chair), Dave Cubberly, Andrew Wickham, Aimee Hendrie …

View page »

EPG 016

Emerging Professionals Committee

The ASLA CA Sierra Chapter’s Emerging Professionals Group (EPG) seeks to: ENGAGE emerging professionals and students in landscape architecture from our region with valuable discussions, networking events and educational opportunities. PROMOTE the involvement and influence of emerging professionals in landscape architecture by connecting with today’s leaders, other young professional groups within the industry, and discussing …

View page »

Golf Tournament Committee

Mission Statement: Provide an opportunity for the chapter members, their offices, and affiliated companies to participate in a fun and relaxing day of golf while raising money for the chapter operations. Members: Skip Mezger (Chair), Jon Bowhay, Peter Larimer, Michael Scheele and Dave Cubberly For more information, contact the Golf Tournament committee at

View page »

Legislative Advocacy Committee

Mission Statement: Protect, proliferate and politicize the profession of landscape architecture through legislative endeavors. Members: Jeff Townsend (Chair), Michael Scheele and Sara Bowhay For more information, contact the Advocacy Committee at

View page »

Professional Education Committee

Mission: To further the professional development of chapter members through a variety of educational events. Chair: Marq Truscott, Vice Chair: Peter Larimer To suggest topics for professional development events or to volunteer to help lead an event, contact the Professional Education committee at

View page »

Public Relations Committee

Mission Statement: Attain and maintain accord and positive image of the Chapter among social groupings outside the Chapter on which the organization depends in order to achieve its mission. Members: Dalton LaVoie (Chair), Chad Kennedy and John Nicolaus For more information, contact the Public Relations committee at

View page »

Student Organization Committee

Mission: To further the recruitment and development of aspiring landscape architects at colleges and universities  throughout the chapter. Members: Skip Mezger (Chair), Marq Truscott, Dave Cubberly

View page »

Youth Education/Outreach Committee

Mission Statement: Promote career discovery in the field of landscape architecture through education, inspiration, and engagement of the local youth and young adults. Members: Sara Fix (Chair), Meredith Branstad (Vice Chair), Dalton LaVoie, Jim Schubert, Lea Allen For more information, contact the Youth Outreach Committee at

View page »